Integral polyhedra

Questions and problems about using polymake go here.
gordonfroyle

Integral polyhedra

Postby gordonfroyle » 14 Jan 2013, 08:44

I am working with "matroid ports" and need to test whether certain polyhedra, given by hyperplanes, are integral (that is, have vertices with integer coordinates) or not.

So far I have been using cdd to convert the H-representation to a V-representation and then just seeing whether it is all integral (in fact, if integral it must be all 0/1).

However while polymake works fast (enough) on most of my problems, there are some, that do not seem to be of any particular size or structure, that seem to take an extreme amount of time. (In general I am looking at around 100 constraints in 25 variables, everything is 0/1.)

I am not a polyhedron expert, and so have a few questions for those who ARE polyhedron experts:

(1) Is there a better way to detect integrality, or non-integrality of a polyhedron than just computing all its vertices and looking at them?

(2) For some applications, randomly re-labelling the problem can have a massive effect on solution time; is this one such problem?

Thanks

Gordon

paffenholz
Developer

Re: Integral polyhedra

Postby paffenholz » 14 Jan 2013, 09:48

(1) Is there a better way to detect integrality, or non-integrality of a polyhedron than just computing all its vertices and looking at them?
Without any assumptions on the inequalities defining your polyhedron computing the vertices is the only option. There are faster ways if the defining inequalities have some special structure (e.g. the facet matrix is unimodular).
(2) For some applications, randomly re-labelling the problem can have a massive effect on solution time; is this one such problem?