using polymake in a C++ program

Questions and problems about using polymake go here.
soeren

using polymake in a C++ program

Postby soeren » 12 Jul 2012, 22:47

Hi,
I would like to use some of polymake's functionality in a C++ project, i.e. calling polymake functions from a C++ program. I've been using the interactive shell quite a bit, but I'm new to this topic.

As far as I understand the documentation writing a client is not what I intend. I've also found out that the next release will feature a callable library, which is in fact already usable. Is there any chance to get access to this library? Or is there any other way to use polymake from a C++ program?
I need this for a scientific project I work on, and it would be great to use pm here.

Best regards,
soeren

blorenz
Developer

Re: using polymake in a C++ program

Postby blorenz » 13 Jul 2012, 00:49

The callable library is working since version 2.10 and included in a default installation.

The documentation is here. There are also slides and an example program using the callable library in the material section from the first polymake workshop: http://www.polymake.org/doku.php/worksh ... terial#cal

In general you need a few lines of code to load the library (check the example), the syntax to use polymake objects then is identical to the C++ clients.

Benjamin

soeren

Postby soeren » 16 Jul 2012, 01:45

Thank you very much! I'm using Mac OS 10.7 and eventually I was able to install polymake(with additional packages from Fink).
However, I got some problems running the examples. When I try run one of the executables I get the following error messages:

Code: Select all