triangulation gone wrong?

Questions and problems about using polymake go here.
HPollehn

triangulation gone wrong?

Postby HPollehn » 03 Oct 2013, 12:04

Hello there,

I'm new to polymake and I'm currently trying to learn general commands and syntax of polymake. At one point I tried to compute a triangulation of a cube with dimension 3. I use the commands:

Code: Select all

$p=cube(3); $tri=$p->TRIANGULATION; print $tri->FACETS;
The curious thing is when I print the vertices of $p first, then the triangulation fails.

Why is that? And is this the proper way to compute a triangulation in polymake?

Best regards
Hannes Pollehn
Attachments
triangulation gone wrong.jpg
(55.94 KiB) Downloaded 2076 times

paffenholz
Developer

Re: triangulation gone wrong?

Postby paffenholz » 04 Oct 2013, 09:49

The curious thing is when I print the vertices of $p first, then the triangulation fails.

Why is that?
This behavior is a side effect of the current rules implemented for triangulations, but certainly not the intended behavior. Whenever you assign a triangulation coming from a polytope $c to a separate variable $t=$c->TRIAGULATION, the polytope and this triangulation share the same properties (they share the same object in memory, i.e. $t is a pointer to the triangulation in $c).

Unfortunately, in your second example the triangulation is only created temporarily, as it is created via a rule that says that the coordinates of the triangulation are the vertices of the polytope, and those should not be stored twice. So when the assignment has finished, the triangulation is removed from the cube, leaving you with a rather useless pointer $tri. In the first case everything is fine as polymake choses a rule that computes the facets of the triangulation, and those are stored permanently.