Facets calculated on 2nd try (not on 1st try)

Questions and problems about using polymake go here.

Moderator: Moderators

danpmoore
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Aug 2018, 01:54

Facets calculated on 2nd try (not on 1st try)

Postby danpmoore » 21 Aug 2018, 02:12

Hello! I enjoy using shell.polymake.org.

I just ran into an odd occurrence. I defined new polytope $p1 by listing its points, and then entered a print command for its facets. I got an incorrect list of 13 facets. Then, I repeated the definition of $p1, and the print command for the facets. This time I got a correct-looking list of 21 facets.

Attached is a text file showing the commands and the printout of facets. Thanks!
Attachments
polymake error.txt
(13.14 KiB) Downloaded 95 times

User avatar
joswig
Main Author
Posts: 207
Joined: 24 Dec 2010, 11:10

Re: Facets calculated on 2nd try (not on 1st try)

Postby joswig » 27 Aug 2018, 16:40

I looked into this, but I cannot reproduce your error. Sorry.

Please install a version of polymake on your system, cf. https://polymake.org/doku.php/download/start . The shell.polymake.org version has a number of limitations and is proof-of-concept only. For instance, there is an upper limit on the cpu time. Due to side effects this might also be the reason for the error you reported.


Return to “Helpdesk”

cron