Minor bug with tikz() function?

Questions and problems about using polymake go here.

Moderator: Moderators

camilo
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 May 2013, 16:11

Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby camilo » 18 Mar 2015, 14:00

Dear all,

thanks once more for the very nice software polymake is.

I've been trying to generate some pictures of 3d polytopes to include via tikz to a latex document. The output looks good, except that it seems certain facets in the front are drawn too early in the tikz code, so they are not really shown in the front.

Below is a working example. In general, there are facets in the front that appear behind facets in the back.

Code: Select all

$M=new Matrix<Rational>([[1,1,3,6,10],[1,1,3,10,6],[1,11,5,2,2],[1,11,2,5,2],[1,11,2,2,5],[1,10,6,3,1],[1,10,6,1,3],[1,10,3,6,1],[1,1,6,3,10],[1,10,3,1,6],[1,10,1,6,3],[1,1,6,10,3],[1,10,1,3,6],[1,6,10,3,1],[1,1,10,3,6],[1,6,10,1,3],[1,6,3,10,1],[1,1,10,6,3],[1,2,2,5,11],[1,6,3,1,10],[1,6,1,10,3],[1,2,2,11,5],[1,6,1,3,10],[1,5,11,2,2],[1,5,2,11,2],[1,5,2,2,11],[1,3,10,6,1],[1,3,10,1,6],[1,3,6,10,1],[1,3,6,1,10],[1,3,1,10,6],[1,2,5,2,11],[1,3,1,6,10],[1,2,11,5,2],[1,2,11,2,5],[1,2,5,11,2]]);
$P=new Polytope<Rational>(VERTICES=>$M);
$projP=projection_full($P);
tikz($projP->VISUAL,File=>"try.tikz");


Would it be possible to fix this?

Thanks a lot!

blorenz
Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 10 Jan 2011, 17:21

Re: Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby blorenz » 19 Mar 2015, 15:58

Hello,

what version of polymake are you using? There are several improvements and fixes for the tikz interface in the new polymake release 2.14 from two weeks ago.
When running your example in the latest polymake version the facet-order seems correct.

Best,
Benjamin

camilo
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 May 2013, 16:11

Re: Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby camilo » 20 Mar 2015, 10:07

Dear Benjamin,

thanks for your reply. I forgot to write I was running polymake 2.13 on Mac OSX 10.9, which I installed from the available bundle. When producing a sketch scene instead, the facets are drawn in the correct order but the vertices aren't, so some vertices in the front are covered by facets in the front. Has this also been improved in release 2.14?

After reading your reply, I installed polymake 2.14 again from the bundle (same OS). However, I didn't get it to work, namely I was getting the error "Illegal instruction 4" when trying to compute projection_full of a polytope (after a fresh start of polymake). Unfortunately, I've dumped the error message already ...

I'm reporting the problem at forum[at]polymake.org.

Cheers,

Camilo

paffenholz
Developer
Posts: 169
Joined: 24 Dec 2010, 13:47

Re: Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby paffenholz » 22 Mar 2015, 08:24

camilo wrote:After reading your reply, I installed polymake 2.14 again from the bundle (same OS). However, I didn't get it to work, namely I was getting the error "Illegal instruction 4" when trying to compute projection_full of a polytope (after a fresh start of polymake). Unfortunately, I've dumped the error message already ...


Apple switched to a new processor generation some time ago (I think in 2012), and the bundle has been built with a 2013 Macbook. Most likely yours has the other processor type. I'll try to get hold of another Macbook and recompile the bundle.

Till then I can only suggest to try to compile from scratch using either fink or homebrew. Instructions are in the polymake wiki.

Andreas

paffenholz
Developer
Posts: 169
Joined: 24 Dec 2010, 13:47

Re: Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby paffenholz » 07 Apr 2015, 09:50

paffenholz wrote:
camilo wrote:After reading your reply, I installed polymake 2.14 again from the bundle (same OS). However, I didn't get it to work, namely I was getting the error "Illegal instruction 4" when trying to compute projection_full of a polytope (after a fresh start of polymake). Unfortunately, I've dumped the error message already ...


Apple switched to a new processor generation some time ago (I think in 2012), and the bundle has been built with a 2013 Macbook. Most likely yours has the other processor type. I'll try to get hold of another Macbook and recompile the bundle.

Till then I can only suggest to try to compile from scratch using either fink or homebrew. Instructions are in the polymake wiki.
Andreas


We have rebuilt the bundle with more generic compiler options. Now the bundle should work on all Intel Macs. It is available on the downloads page.

Andreas

camilo
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 May 2013, 16:11

Re: Minor bug with tikz() function?

Postby camilo » 28 Jun 2017, 12:38

Follow-up: that tikz bug I reported seems to have been fixed with posterior versions, and the bundled version worked fine. Thanks, and sorry for the delay.

Camilo


Return to “Helpdesk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron